My new toolbox

Week Five Essential Question:  What are your overall take-aways from the methods/tools that you might use to differentiate the classroom environment (for teacher productivity and student progression)? Which of these may you use in your classroom in the future?

I’ve learned so much since the start of the semester that I don’t even know where to begin.  I think I have always believed in the ideal of differentiated instruction.  Now I am learning how I can use digital tools to bring reality closer to the ideal.  I feel like I still have so much to learn about differentiation and about using those digital tools.  Here’s a list of some of my favorites.

Favorite tools in my new toolbox:

  • Edmodo
  • Evernote
  • Screencast-o-matic
  • Survey Monkey
  • Google Docs and Google Drive

This week I watched as our Middle School Math wikipage seemed to come together magically.  Jason, Chancy, and I each worked on the page on our own schedules, checking in occasionally through Wiggio or e-mail.  The simulation space still seems over my head, but I’m so impressed with what Colin and Chip have created there.  At Chip’s suggestion, I explored cool math simulation apps and found one I really like, Solids Elementary HD, version 1.4, which got me thinking about e-textbooks that could use simulations to teach. Then Chip pointed me toward some cool e-book possibilities out there, and now I need to clear some memory on my husband’s iPad so I can download E.O. Wilson’s Life On Earth biology e-textbook.  The Google hangouts I’ve done with Colin and Chip have emphasized the value of what Colin calls “synchronous communication,” and I used to call “talking.”  It’s so good and reassuring to remember that I’m interacting with humans out there in cyberspace.

I’ve tried to find spare moments here and there to read others’ blogs and watch the intro videos I haven’t seen yet.  I wish I could remember who made the video tutorial about auto posting your diigo link to your blog each week– I followed her instructions and set up my own auto post (it posts on Sunday, so it’ll show up next week).  Thank you!  And Chris commented on my blog post from last week and told me about Screencast-o-matic (which I had also forgotten… there’s no room left, and things are falling out of my brain!) which was exactly the tool I needed to create my own video tutorial.  Thank you, Chris!

And now it is two minutes before midnight, and I think I should see if sleep helps keep things from falling out of my brain…  there’s so much more I wanted to write, but I can’t remember it right now.

About annekurland

#diffimooc participant UAS EDMA 658 Technology for Teaching and Learning Mathematics
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My new toolbox

  1. Anne, as always, I can relate to all your thoughts. Think it was Barbra Donachy who made the how to video, which I too found valuable. Because I’m a very prescriptive person, am offering to you for your holy brain, my roll of CAUTION duct tape. 🙂 Lori

  2. In the beginning, it was all synchronous, until humans learned how to leave rocks, sticks, and handprints on cave walls as signals for each other. It’s been all been a long path of catching up since then to catch up with all the nuances of face to face conversation.

Leave a Reply

